Lori Thatcher

Writing and Thinking about writing

The Big Picture for Poem-a-Day

2 Comments

The prompt was to write about the big picture.

Here’s my offering:

It
seems
much harder
to see the big picture
I’ve been looking so long
it doesn’t seem so big anymore
nor agonize me anywhere to the extent
as when I was sure I could change the world
instead I concentrate on the little picture
as I recycle plastic and newspapers
grow some sprouts and herbs
vote and talk and remember
to say a kind word
to the ones
who have
also lost
sight

After I posted it on PAD, I changed the “or” in the seventh line to “nor.” What a learning experience this has been.

2 thoughts on “The Big Picture for Poem-a-Day

  1. I love it that you hope to achiev greatness with small things…and you will

Leave a Reply

