Lori Thatcher

Writing and Thinking about writing

Poem-a-Day Day 10

Leave a comment

2011 April PAD Challenge: Day 10
For today’s prompt, write a never again poem. Maybe you’ll never again fall in love or never again tell a lie. Or maybe, just maybe, you’ll never again not write a sestina.(Like that? It’s a double negative.)

I actually wrote quite a few poems using that prompt today. It’s getting a bit easier now that I’ve let go of all fantasy of writing THE poem. So here are the poems of the day (the ones I posted):

I never would

I’d like to say, I would never say never,
because life is the strangest thing.
Our “nevers” become what we want to do
and “always” the rarest fling.

Never Again

The not simple task
muscle contraction
the balance and timing
such coördination
I cannot gather
without support.
The doctors say
never again  
lacking this
foot-dragging limp.
But when night comes
I stride across
the scenery of dreams
run in pastures of blooms
and walk free.
Let them keep
their never agains
this time I will fly.

My New,
Snazzy, Bright Blue,
Flashy Fake Leather,
Calendar-Planner

Never again forget an appointment
this calendar promotes
but to my disappointment
you have to write down notes

It won’t remember for you
the doctor or the vet
if you neglect the follow-through
You surely will forget

But I carry it with me always
and jot my lexis down
through offices and hallways
seeking the perfect noun

But as for missing appointments
I’m much worse than before
I wish they had some ointments
to cure this poetry-whore

Leave a Reply

